3 Types of Assessment in Learner-Centered Education

From the Vision   14 January 2016

From the Vision

In a learner-centered education system, assessments are aligned with the critical knowledge, skills, and dispositions to guide each learner towards mastery of agreed upon competencies.

There are three primary types of assessment:


In the new paradigm, assessment “for” and “as” learning are the predominant types employed. Assessments help learners and adults identify progress and challenges and tailor strategies and pathways towards mastery. Assessments are embedded in the learning experience and provide opportunities to demonstrate mastery through performance-based tasks and in real-world settings.

New resources and news on The Big Idea!


We recently announced a new R&D acceleration initiative to connect and support local communities ready to bring public, equitable, learner-centered ecosystems to life.